Interview w/ The Ringer’s Shea Serrano

Interview w/ The Ringer’s Shea Serrano

*Originally Posted October 2016*

So let me explain first how this happened. I was looking for a way to really get my site that you are reading this on poppin’. I had some good ideas and some good article ideas but none of them stuck out like an interview. I didn’t wanna go small, I could have gotten a top recruit or CFB player like I usually do, but I wanted someone big time. So I said why not hit up fellow Hispanic writer Shea Serrano to produce something dope(mostly on his end, I’m whack).

Well, he responded, I went to get a new pair of pants, shot him a few questions, he put some dope words down to respond to them and now we are here. So below are some questions answered by New York Times Best Selling author, Shea Serrano. We did this for G-Baby.

Nick Gonzalez: How do you like working at The Ringer so far, and what is your favorite part?

Shea Serrano: I like it a great deal. The people who work there are all very talented, so it’s very intimidating to me to know that I have to try to keep up with all of them. That’s probably my favorite part, though: silently competing against all of the other people there because I want to be better than them. I want to be the top person. I want it to be unquestioned. I have no idea how to actually make that happen, I just know that I want it to happen. I mean, how do you beat Molly McHugh or Chris Ryan? How do you beat Jonathan Tjarks or Lindsay Zoladz? How the fuck do you beat Sean Fennessey?

My other favorite part of working there is that it’s great to work at a place where you can just blindly trust the leadership because you know that the main goal they have is to just make some cool shit. I like that a lot. It’s very comforting. For example, there’s this whole process your articles have to go through before they get published where they pass through the hands of a couple different editors. Were it a group of different people, I’d probably be real nervous about that. I’d be scared that the story I turned in was not going to be the story that got published. But all The Ringer editors are, like, on the same brain wavelength or whatever. It’s super smooth and easy and it’s just, like, you get the edited version of your story and it’s better than when you turned it in. It’s cleaner. It’s clearer. But it still sounds exactly like you wanted it to.

Nick Gonzalez: What would you say to young aspiring writers trying to make a name for themselves?

Shea Serrano: I would say a bunch of things, chief among them being: do dope, original shit. Don’t do all the same shit everyone else is doing. You’ll never make your way out of the muck if you’re doing what other people are doing. Think on it like this: Let’s say that a big thing happens during a football game, right? It’s a thing that needs to be written about and is going to be written about. And so you end up taking the same angle to write about it that Robert Mays takes or Danny B. Kelly takes. There’s no chance I’m going to read your thing when I can read theirs. You’re never going to win that competition, not even if you happened to be some undiscovered talent who was a better writer than those two guys. You can’t compete against those known commodities and expect to win more times than you lose. The only way you can get your name into the mix is if you’re forcing people to have to read your stuff, and the only way you can do that if is if you’re writing about the stuff in a new, exciting way. If you’re the only person on the internet who took ANGLE X to write about a story, then if someone wants to read ANGLE X about that story then they have to read you. So just try to do that as often as you can.

Nick Gonzalez: Who is your favorite rapper of all time?

Shea Serrano: Rap is too fluid of a thing to assign an all-time favorite. It depends on the mood I’m in. Currently, my favorite rapper is Kendrick Lamar, but that’s because I’m listening to him while I answer these questions. 45 minutes ago it was YG. Two hours ago it was Selena, who absolutely rapped on “Techno Cumbia.”

Nick Gonzalez: Who is your favorite NBA player of all time?

Shea Serrano: That’s a much easier question. Give me Tim Duncan.

Nick Gonzalez: Lastly, Favorite type of Spanish food?

Shea Serrano: I’ma go with a bean and cheese taco. If I was only allowed to eat one food for the rest of my life, it’d be that, so I guess that makes it my favorite.

His twitter, @SheaSerrano

His Medium/Ringer author page, Shea Serrano

Buy his bestselling book here.

Leave a Reply

